Skip to content

Introduction to Charles Dickens Booklet

Click here to access an editable Word version of the booklet and here to access a PDF version.

The booklet contains the openings from seven novels:

  1. Oliver Twist (1837)
  2. Barnaby Rudge (1841)
  3. A Christmas Carol (1843)
  4. Bleak House (1853)
  5. Hard Times (1854)
  6. Great Expectations (1861)
  7. Our Mutual Friend (1865)

For each opening, there are some quick review questions and a big question.

Potentially unfamiliar words and phrased are underlined for further discussion.

Hope it’s useful –


Form CTA