Introduction to Charles Dickens Booklet | KS3 Teaching Resource

Click here to access an editable Word version of the booklet and here to access a PDF version.

The booklet contains the openings from seven novels:

  1. Oliver Twist (1837)
  2. Barnaby Rudge (1841)
  3. A Christmas Carol (1843)
  4. Bleak House (1853)
  5. Hard Times (1854)
  6. Great Expectations (1861)
  7. Our Mutual Friend (1865)

For each opening, there are some quick review questions and a big question.

Potentially unfamiliar words and phrased are underlined for further discussion.

Hope it’s useful –


Search all of Doug’s resources here:

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

If you use the site regularly, it’d be great if you could make a small donation to help pay for the running of it. Any amount would be greatly appreciated.